Kollen Bulletin

From: "Rich Kollen" - dayofgame@aol.com
Subject: SCCFOA
Date: Fri, 27 Oct 2006


This week, we had an opportunity to review a few DVDs of plays sent in by coaches.  Please remember that these comments are not intended to embarrass anyone.  They are solely designed to make us better officials.

*    On a pass play in a very close game, a defensive player clearly commits a pass interference foul (and possibly a personal foul) on an eligible receiver, but no flag was thrown by the covering official.  The ball was intercepted about 15 yards downfield.  After the BJ and R discussed it with the SJ, the crew ruled the ball uncatchable.  First, the mechanics:  if the covering official observes what would normally be pass interference, but rules a ball uncatchable, that official needs to give the appropriate signal.  If this had been done, it would have looked much better for the crew, and they would not have gotten as much heat from the coach.  Second, the ruling:  remember our "when in doubts."  The philosophy for all officials should be that, if a pass lands in the field of play, the benefit of the doubt goes to the eligible receiver.  Remember the athletic ability of these young men, and lean toward a catchable pass.  We all miss calls, but my biggest concern in talking to the officials on the game was that no one else stepped up to help on the play.  When a pass is thrown, all officials (other than the R, who should be watching the passer) should immediately look to the intended pass receiver, unless they have a situation which requires their immediate attention (which is seldom).  On this play, the covering official should have received help from the HL, LJ, FJ, BJ and/or U.  Do not hesitate to be a crew-saver.  The entire crew's credibility was lost because no one stepped up to save the crew.  Everyone should leave their egos in their cars, and no one should be afraid to make the obvious call, even if it wasn't "in their zone."

*    On a punt play, a BJ allowed an A player to recover a punt muffed by B, and then run the muffed punt into the end zone for what he considered a touchdown.  Luckily, the officials convened and correctly awarded the ball to A at the spot of the recovery.  BJ was in good position, but by letting the play continue, the perception was that the officials didn't know the rules.  That ruins credibility for the rest of the game.  Make sure you know the rules, and ESPECIALLY those rules that are important to your position (for example: BJ should make sure he knows the rules regarding a fair catch).

*    On a 98-yard fumble recovery, there was a clear block below the waist at the point of attack that no official called.  Again someone MUST see this illegal act.  This was a dangerous play, and must be penalized.  The LJ should have seen it; however, again, be a crew-saver.  There is no reason that the R, U, and FJ could not have thrown their flags.  Nothing gets you positively noticed more than being a crew-saver.

*    Another IW last weekend.  This happens when we aren't concentrating and staying focused during the play.  If you don't see leather, don't blow the play dead.  There is no need for a whistle unless you personally saw the play ended.  The players are getting very adept at using the play fake and other tactics.  We may lose sight of the ball, and we should never blow the play dead for a downed runner who doesn't have the football.  The troubling thing about this particular IW was that the coach thoroughly explained the play to the officials before the game.  It is hard for me to defend officials for an IW if the coach tells the officials that it happened to him earlier in the season, and explains the play to you.  R and U, if a coach asks you to watch for something specific during the game, please inform your other officials.  You have 45 minutes before the game when you are all on the field.  That should be plenty of time to explain the coach's comments to everyone on the crew.  Concentrate and stay focused during every play .

*    If an A player moves prior to the snap (other than by a legal shift or motion), the movement should be considered a false start, and the play should be blown dead prior to the snap.  This applies to backs and wide-outs as well.  If you see a back or a wide-out off the line who clearly misses the snap count, that is a false start.  Obviously, be ready for legal shifts, but usually a missed snap count is pretty obvious.  This also applies to guys in motion.  If an A player is in motion, and then turns and begins to head up field before the snap (i.e., misses the snap count), this is NOT an illegal motion.  This is a dead-ball false start.  It should only be ruled illegal motion if the motion man is running at an angle that is toward the LOS.

*    The Coaches Association has entered into an agreement severely restricting who can film community college games.  There have been video operators questioned at some of our games.  If you are personally having someone videotape your game, that should be fine, but PLEASE clear it with game management before the game.



Have a Great Weekend
Rich Kollen

2015 SCCFOA - Southern California Collegiate Football Officials Association