Get Ready for Fall
From: Rich Kollen
Subject: SCCFOA
Date: Friday, October 24, 2025
Last week, we had an interesting situation after a team scored a touchdown. There was a little bit of activity in the end zone, which the Referee quickly broke up. Meanwhile, the scoring team’s coach was trying to get the crew’s attention because he wanted the ball placed at position 4 to go for two points. The coach later explained that the 40-second clock was running while he was trying to communicate this, and they were ultimately penalized for delay of game. In this situation, the best approach would have been to reset the play clock to 25 seconds, given the confusion among the coach, the crew, and the brief incident in the end zone. After the delay, the ball should be spotted at position 4 for the kick. (Rule 8-3-2-c) Let’s not get too strict on this. Use some common sense.
I understand that, by rule, the 40-second clock starts after a touchdown for the extra point. (Rule 3-2-4-b) However, it might be a good standard procedure to instruct the play clock operator not to start the 40-second clock after a touchdown. Once both teams are back on the field and ready for the try, the operator can then start a 25-second play clock. Bottom line, let’s try to avoid any delay of game penalties on a try, unless it is egregious.
Last weekend, we had an interesting play. Team A was punting on fourth down. The kick was muffed by the receiver and recovered by the kicking team. There was a flag down for a Team A player going out of bounds on his own during the kick and returning in bounds. (Rule 6-3-12) This player was approximately 30 yards from the end of the kick when the muff occurred, and had no effect on the play. After discussion, the crew enforced a penalty against the kicking team player for going out of bounds on his own and returning inbounds. I’ve shared this play with several people, and most feel that the player who went out of bounds had nothing to do with the outcome of the play and there should have been no penalty. Additionally, the player came back in bounds likely just after the recovery by the kicking team anyway, when the ball was ruled dead (which wouldn’t be a foul). In this case, the turnover was negated, and Team A was forced to replay 4th down, late in the game. As luck would have it, the game went into extra periods and you can probably guess who lost. If a kicking-team player goes out of bounds during a kick, returns inbounds and has absolutely no impact on the outcome of the play, let’s avoid getting involved. Unless that player’s action affects the play or gives his team an advantage, it’s best to stay off the call. Again, use common sense. Remember also, the rule only applies to a kicking team player who goes out of bounds during a scrimmage kick play and returns inbounds during the down. (Rule 2-30-3) A player going out of bounds during a return can return back in play without foul.
Over the past several weeks, we’ve had more than five situations where officials did not record the correct number of a player who committed a foul. With seven of us on the field in every game, there’s no reason we can’t get together and confirm the right number. Everyone, make it a point of emphasis this week to get the fouling player’s number during the play. Starting this week, if we have a situation involving an ejection — whether for targeting or unsportsmanlike conduct — and there is any dispute about the player’s number, the Referee must take the first timeout or next opportunity to use a tablet and confirm the correct number. Getting this right is essential for accuracy, accountability, and credibility.
On a punt play, the Back Judge is to throw a bean bag at the end of the kick. In one case last week, the Back Judge felt he missed the correct spot and, during the play, went to retrieve the bean bag and move it. A lot is happening on the field during a punt – far more important than relocating a bean bag. Once it’s down, leave it and stay focused on your game responsibilities. You can remember where it should be, should we have a PSK foul and need that spot.
There’s always some subjectivity involved when deciding between a personal foul and an unsportsmanlike conduct foul. Our standard should be: when in doubt, make it a personal foul. To be unsportsmanlike conduct, any contact must (a) be dead-ball and (b) occur CLEARLY after the ball is dead and not be part of the game action. (Rule 9-2-1-j) Most contact fouls are part of the game action (even if late), and should be personal fouls.
For many of you, having observers at your games and discussing your performance afterward is something new. I learned a long time ago: never challenge an observer. Let them share their feedback, listen respectfully, and simply respond, “Yes, sir/ma’am.” Take what you like to make yourself better, and file away things with which you may disagree. Getting into a verbal debate with someone who’s there to help you improve is not productive and sends the wrong message. Observers are here to make you better — take their input as an opportunity to grow. Also remember, the observers are hired because they know what they are doing, and do it well.
v Every one of us started as a high school official (or lower), and many of you still work high school games. However, the problem we’re experiencing is that some of you are applying high school rules during our Saturday games. This has to stop. If you get a rule wrong, make it on Friday night games (high school), not Saturday (college).
Remember: Helmet contact is not a foul. To be targeting, there must be all the elements of targeting under NCAA Rules (including indicators). (Rule 9-1-3 and 9-1-4)
The tush-push is legal. Physically pushing the ball carrier forward from behind is not a foul. Teammates can always push the ball carrier, but they can’t grasp, pull, or lift the ball carrier to assist in forward progress. (Rule 9-3-2-b)
Face guarding a receiver is legal. To be pass interference, there MUST be contact. (Rule 7-3-8-c)
Five and ten yard penalties on scoring plays do not carry over to the kickoff. They are declined by rule. (Rule 10-2-5-a-2)
There is no such foul as illegal participation under NCAA rules. There is only illegal substitution. (Rule 3-5-3) There could also be unsportsmanlike conduct in the rare instance where a substitute interferes with the ball or a player while the ball is in play. (Rule 9-2-3-c)
Three weeks remain in the regular season. Let’s all commit to refocusing, continuing to get the big calls right, and staying off action that has nothing to do with the outcome of the game (except for safety fouls). Use common sense out there, and call what NEEDS to be called.
Rich Kollen
Director of Football Operations
Subject: SCCFOA
Date: Friday, October 24, 2025
SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA FOOTBALL ASSOCIATION
2025 WEEKLY BULLETIN #9Last week, we had an interesting situation after a team scored a touchdown. There was a little bit of activity in the end zone, which the Referee quickly broke up. Meanwhile, the scoring team’s coach was trying to get the crew’s attention because he wanted the ball placed at position 4 to go for two points. The coach later explained that the 40-second clock was running while he was trying to communicate this, and they were ultimately penalized for delay of game. In this situation, the best approach would have been to reset the play clock to 25 seconds, given the confusion among the coach, the crew, and the brief incident in the end zone. After the delay, the ball should be spotted at position 4 for the kick. (Rule 8-3-2-c) Let’s not get too strict on this. Use some common sense.
I understand that, by rule, the 40-second clock starts after a touchdown for the extra point. (Rule 3-2-4-b) However, it might be a good standard procedure to instruct the play clock operator not to start the 40-second clock after a touchdown. Once both teams are back on the field and ready for the try, the operator can then start a 25-second play clock. Bottom line, let’s try to avoid any delay of game penalties on a try, unless it is egregious.
Last weekend, we had an interesting play. Team A was punting on fourth down. The kick was muffed by the receiver and recovered by the kicking team. There was a flag down for a Team A player going out of bounds on his own during the kick and returning in bounds. (Rule 6-3-12) This player was approximately 30 yards from the end of the kick when the muff occurred, and had no effect on the play. After discussion, the crew enforced a penalty against the kicking team player for going out of bounds on his own and returning inbounds. I’ve shared this play with several people, and most feel that the player who went out of bounds had nothing to do with the outcome of the play and there should have been no penalty. Additionally, the player came back in bounds likely just after the recovery by the kicking team anyway, when the ball was ruled dead (which wouldn’t be a foul). In this case, the turnover was negated, and Team A was forced to replay 4th down, late in the game. As luck would have it, the game went into extra periods and you can probably guess who lost. If a kicking-team player goes out of bounds during a kick, returns inbounds and has absolutely no impact on the outcome of the play, let’s avoid getting involved. Unless that player’s action affects the play or gives his team an advantage, it’s best to stay off the call. Again, use common sense. Remember also, the rule only applies to a kicking team player who goes out of bounds during a scrimmage kick play and returns inbounds during the down. (Rule 2-30-3) A player going out of bounds during a return can return back in play without foul.
Over the past several weeks, we’ve had more than five situations where officials did not record the correct number of a player who committed a foul. With seven of us on the field in every game, there’s no reason we can’t get together and confirm the right number. Everyone, make it a point of emphasis this week to get the fouling player’s number during the play. Starting this week, if we have a situation involving an ejection — whether for targeting or unsportsmanlike conduct — and there is any dispute about the player’s number, the Referee must take the first timeout or next opportunity to use a tablet and confirm the correct number. Getting this right is essential for accuracy, accountability, and credibility.
On a punt play, the Back Judge is to throw a bean bag at the end of the kick. In one case last week, the Back Judge felt he missed the correct spot and, during the play, went to retrieve the bean bag and move it. A lot is happening on the field during a punt – far more important than relocating a bean bag. Once it’s down, leave it and stay focused on your game responsibilities. You can remember where it should be, should we have a PSK foul and need that spot.
There’s always some subjectivity involved when deciding between a personal foul and an unsportsmanlike conduct foul. Our standard should be: when in doubt, make it a personal foul. To be unsportsmanlike conduct, any contact must (a) be dead-ball and (b) occur CLEARLY after the ball is dead and not be part of the game action. (Rule 9-2-1-j) Most contact fouls are part of the game action (even if late), and should be personal fouls.
For many of you, having observers at your games and discussing your performance afterward is something new. I learned a long time ago: never challenge an observer. Let them share their feedback, listen respectfully, and simply respond, “Yes, sir/ma’am.” Take what you like to make yourself better, and file away things with which you may disagree. Getting into a verbal debate with someone who’s there to help you improve is not productive and sends the wrong message. Observers are here to make you better — take their input as an opportunity to grow. Also remember, the observers are hired because they know what they are doing, and do it well.
v Every one of us started as a high school official (or lower), and many of you still work high school games. However, the problem we’re experiencing is that some of you are applying high school rules during our Saturday games. This has to stop. If you get a rule wrong, make it on Friday night games (high school), not Saturday (college).
Remember: Helmet contact is not a foul. To be targeting, there must be all the elements of targeting under NCAA Rules (including indicators). (Rule 9-1-3 and 9-1-4)
The tush-push is legal. Physically pushing the ball carrier forward from behind is not a foul. Teammates can always push the ball carrier, but they can’t grasp, pull, or lift the ball carrier to assist in forward progress. (Rule 9-3-2-b)
Face guarding a receiver is legal. To be pass interference, there MUST be contact. (Rule 7-3-8-c)
Five and ten yard penalties on scoring plays do not carry over to the kickoff. They are declined by rule. (Rule 10-2-5-a-2)
There is no such foul as illegal participation under NCAA rules. There is only illegal substitution. (Rule 3-5-3) There could also be unsportsmanlike conduct in the rare instance where a substitute interferes with the ball or a player while the ball is in play. (Rule 9-2-3-c)
Three weeks remain in the regular season. Let’s all commit to refocusing, continuing to get the big calls right, and staying off action that has nothing to do with the outcome of the game (except for safety fouls). Use common sense out there, and call what NEEDS to be called.
Rich Kollen
Director of Football Operations