Kollen Bulletin

From: "Rich Kollen" - dayofgame@aol.com
Subject: SCCFOA
Date: Fri, 8 Oct 2004 08:22:37 -0400


The season is going well. Keep up your dedication, concentration and
focus during SCCFOA games. By developing pre-snap routines, you will
not be surprised on calls and that increases your chances of getting the
play correct.

We had our first reported inadvertent whistle "IW" last weekend. Lack
of concentration and focus is the major reason for an IW.
Offense Pass Interference "OPI" is not a loss of down in the NCAA
rulebook.

A field goal missed from the twenty-yard line to the goal line is next
put in play at the twenty-yard line (team A can select any spot along
the twenty to put the ball in play). A missed field goal outside the
twenty is put in play at the previous spot. I understand the HS book is
different on both these enforcements; however, please use the NCAA
rules in SCCFOA games.

A free kick out of bounds will be put in play at the hash mark closest
to the yard line where it went out of bounds. If possible, always
start a new series after a free kick or scrimmage kick on a yard line.

Please remember that during an injury time out, a player can come to
the sideline to talk to the coach. However, keep the coaches off the
field if their sole purpose is to conference with the player(s).

Holding Of Eligible Receiver (From our northern friends, COA)
An opponent cannot hold an eligible receiver until a legal forward pass
is no longer possible. Under the premise that a legal forward pass is
not in the air, the following judgment criteria must be considered in
relation to this holding rule:
The holding act must put the receiver at a disadvantage through
physical contact that restricts the receiver's movement or ability to run a
pass route. (A legal push or block by Team B that knocks the receiver
off balance or down is not holding or restricting the opponent as long as
the contact is not a non-football act).
Anytime an eligible receiver is intentionally pulled directly down to
the ground (tackled) beyond the line of scrimmage, holding should be
called.
As long as a legal forward pass has not been thrown, Team B has the
right to legally contact that receiver as long as the receiver is a
potential blocker. The receiver can no longer possibly block the Team B
player when the receiver moves in a direction that takes the receiver away
from the defender, or is occupying the same yard line as the defender.
The toughest judgment is when there is a tugging or pulling of the
jersey. You must decide if the pull or stretch of the jersey restrained or
restricted the receiver. The amount of jersey pulled, how long the
jersey was held, etc. are not judgment criteria to use in making the foul
call. The pulling or stretching of the jersey will draw attention to
the act, but you must apply the restraint/restriction criteria as the
sole basis for your decision.

-Rich

2015 SCCFOA - Southern California Collegiate Football Officials Association