Kollen Bulletin

From: "Rich Kollen" - dayofgame@me.com
Subject: SCCFOA
Date: Thursday, October 06, 2016


SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA FOOTBALL ASSOCIATION

2016 WEEKLY BULLETIN #6

The Hawthorne Effect is also referred to as the Observer Effect. It stems from a study of a large electric company in the late 1920's. The full report is on Wikipedia and is interesting reading. Briefly, the study was done in a factory outside Chicago in hopes of determining what could encourage more employee productivity. Things like lighting changes, longer breaks, and clean environment were all studied. During the studies, productivity went up during the study, but then went back to normal. Researchers later determined that during the study, when all the employees were being observed, their productivity increased. The experiment concluded that lighting/heating, or break time didn't matter. It was during observation that their productivity increased. If we have observers at our games, do we tend to work harder? Do officials focus and concentrate more? When I was on the field, I remember tightening up when supervisors were at the game. As officials, we know we are being observed in all sports at all times, resulting in increased accountability. We have an excellent observer program, but we cannot see every game. The technology, however, allows coaches, via video, to evaluate every play we make on Saturdays. Because of this technology, you are always being observed!

We repeatedly discuss communication in these weekly emails and spend 45 minutes on communication at the clinic, and yet still have issues in this area. The latest problem was this email from one of our head coaches. "This started the problem as the HL told me when I asked why they called the returner down he said, 'I don't know, it wasn't my call.' I said, 'Me either, so can you find out?' and he said, 'no.'" This is unacceptable. The head coach is your customer. Although the customer is not always right in this case, the customer DOES deserve explanations of fouls or close calls. Please work on your communication with head coaches.

A few hints when dealing with coaches:
Always be in control and speak in calm tones (keep your composure).
Maintain positive and confident (but not arrogant) body language.
Make direct eye contact with the coach when the situation allows.
Only answer coaches' questions, not statements (let them rant, if they want).
Deal with the coach's behavior before answering questions.
Be available to coaches, and listen with an open mind. Answer rules-related questions, using the specific language of the rules. If coaches simply need to vent, reassure them that you have heard and understand their concerns.

Some of our games are played at high school facilities where hash marks are different than NCAA. Please estimate where the correct NCAA hashes should be and put the ball there. You don't have to get out a tape measure, but do your best to estimate.

We discussed last week that any coach requesting it will be granted a time-out, despite it not being the head coach. However, when we're down in the red zone, we are going to give the head coach, and only the head coach, permission to leave the coaching box to request a time out. He can leave the box only to request a time-out and must immediately return to the coaching box. As long as he is requesting a time-out, please give him lots of leeway.

Last weekend, there was a play in which a forward pass hit the helmet of the offensive lineman, No. 64. A flag was thrown for illegal touching. The crew quickly conferenced and determined by rule that an originally ineligible player, including lineman 50-79, must intentionally touch a forward pass in order to have illegal touching. In this case, the crew discussed the play and ruled correctly. Good job! (Rule 7-3-11)

There has been much discussion on some high profile targeting calls in national TV games lately. We reported last week that the NCAA expanded the term "crown" of the helmet. In all targeting calls, we must remember there must be INTENT to target; that is, taking aim for the purpose of attacking. The rule provides that "no player shall target and make forcible contact. . . ." (Rules 9-1-3 and 9-1-4) The target is more important than the contact. By rule, there are indicators that must be present, and officials must consider before calling a targeting foul. These include: (1) launch (player leaving his feet to attack upward), (2) crouch (followed by upward and forward thrust), (3) leading with the helmet, shoulder, forearm, fist, hand or elbow, and (4) lowering the head before attacking. The goal is to get these dangerous hits out of the game. As with any safety fouls, when in question it is a foul. Review Rules 9-1-3 and 9-1-4 this week in your pre-game.

Last week, we had a holding foul called on the defense on an eligible receiver. The judgment and call were correct. The enforcement, however, did not include the automatic first down. This was a legal forward pass play in which the pass crossed the neutral zone and the hold occurred beyond the neutral zone. (Rule 9-3-5) This was a good opportunity for someone on the crew to step up and correct the error. Don't be afraid to be a crew-saver!

Remember, it is not a safety if a player, between his five-yard line and his goal line, intercepts a pass or fumble, recovers an opponent's fumble or backward pass, or catches or recovers a kick, and his original momentum carries him into his own end zone. When in doubt as to whether the runner's momentum carried him into the end zone, or to the one, go with momentum into the end zone. (Rule 8-5-1-a Exception)

On a punt play, during the kick, Team B's eleventh player ran onto the field. This is a live-ball foul, but the enforcement is not PSK. No incoming player shall enter the field of play or end zone while the ball is in play. Live-ball foul, five yards from the previous spot. (Rule 3-5-2-a) This is an important enforcement, since the penalty may give Team A a first down.

Many schools are now putting in what they call a shield...three players to protect the punter. It is legal to jump straight up attempting to block the kick, or to jump through the gap between two players. If a player jumps straight up, and is blocked below the waist, this is not a foul, as the opponent did not have one or both feet on the ground. (Rule 2-3-2-a) If the player jumps straight up and lands on another player, it is not a foul. If the B player attempts to leap directly over an A player in the shield, that is a personal foul. (Rule 9-1-11-c)

Don't be sad it is over, be happy it happened! - Vin Scully

Rich Kollen
Director of Football Operations
Southern California Football Association



2015 SCCFOA - Southern California Collegiate Football Officials Association